Illalong News

  • 15th November, 2018

28th Annual Speech Night

Congratulations to all award winners for your great achievements in academic, curricular and co-curricular activities in 2018.

                                     Left: Guest Speaker, Ms Karen Phillips, Gold Coast Citizen of the Year
                                                                              Major Awards
Major Awards
The R.J. Nicholls Shield for Champion House
Wright House
The Caltex Award for excellence in academic, leadership, sporting and community service
Annabelle Lawrie
The Daniel Bennett Award for outstanding performance in a chosen field
Dariya (Dasha) Gorshechnikova-Illich & Xinyue (Alice) Zhang
The Principal’s Award for Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Lachlan Window
The Friends of A.B. Paterson College Award for Sportsperson of the Year
Rachel Hoch
The Commonwealth Bank of Australia Award for the Performing Arts
Nikki Wallis
The Coomera Valley Rotary Club Cup for Public Speaking and Debating
Parsha Mia
The “Butch” Lenton Memorial Award for the student best exemplifying the most outstanding contribution to the Winton Camp through their leadership, care and commitment to others
Georgia Coward
The Michael D Veivers Cup for outstanding commitment and leadership in the Junior School
Tiara Baker
The Special Principal’s Award for outstanding service to the College
Katy Denney
& Adrian Rajkamal
The Principal’s Leadership Award for outstanding contribution to the College required of a College Captain
Rachel Hoch
The Year 12 A.B. Paterson College Vocational Education Student of the Year for outstanding commitment and achievement in vocational studies
Chontelle Jeynes
Dux Proxime Accessit Award for Runner-Up to Dux
Cecil Mustafiz
The Kelvin Hutchinson Award for Dux of the College
Xinyue (Alice) Zhang
The Banjo Paterson Cup for the person best exemplifying the College Motto of “Excellence, Care and Commitment”
Simone Everingham
The Alan Rickard Scholarship for the person best exemplifying and epitomising the values of A.B. Paterson College
Grace Murphy
                                                     L-R: Rachel Hoch, Annabelle Lawrie and Lachlan Window
                                       L-R: Dasha Gorshechnikova-Illich, Alice Zhang, Parsha Mia and Nikki Wallis
                                           L-R: Georgia Coward, Katy Denney, Adrian Rajkamal and Tiara Baker
                                                      L-R: Chontelle Jeynes, Simone Everingham and Grace Murphy
                                   L-R: Cecil Mustafiz (Runner-Up to Dux) and Alice Zhang (Dux of the College)
L-R: Wright House Captains (Champion House) and Rachel Hoch (Bond University Vice Chancellor’s Elite Scholarship recipient) with Ryan Caldwell
                          Year Level Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Awards
Year 4 Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Awards
Lauchlan Mason
Year 5 Academic Achievement Award
Agan Pillai
Year 6 Academic Achievement Award
Isabelle Doo
Year 7 Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Awards
Mingqian (Ally) Zhou
Year 8 Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Awards
Charles Morris
Year 9 Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Awards, 2018 Accelerated English & 2018 Accelerated Mathematics
Dorothy Hou
Year 10 Academic Achievement & Co-Curricular Award
Sascha Lawton – Physics: Specialist Mathematics
Year 11 Academic Achievement Award
Reilly Hounslow – Chemistry; Mathematics C; Physics

                                 University Scholarships and Guaranteed Admissions

Bond University Vice Chancellor’s Elite Scholarship
Rachel Hoch
Bond University Collegiate Excellence Scholarship
Georgia Downey
Bond University A.B. Paterson College Public Speaking Competition Bursary
Parsha Mia
Bond University Guaranteed Entries
Ethan Coote, Laura Foley, Dariya (Dasha) Gorshechnikova-Illich, Jayde Hartfiel, Evan Karananos, Chaoxi Li, Lillian Orman and Muhammad (Sohaib) Rashid
Griffith University Short Courses
Laura Foley, Jessica McDonald, Alexandra McLean, Parsha Mia, Ehab Siddiqui, Sybren Terpstra, Bethany Tyler and Robson Wood
Griffith University Short Courses and Guaranteed Admission Scheme
Dariya (Dasha) Gorshechnikova-Illich, Monica Ibrahim, Isabel Kitto, Annabelle Lawrie, Jordan McDonald, Lily-Rose Muir, Emily Read, Patrick Stevenson and Ali Zabihi
Southern Cross University STAR Early Entry
Emily Read
Barrington College Diplomas
Thomas Allard, Natalie Anderson, Pavarit Areephan, Jacob Bisgrove, Jerry Chia, Peyton Coney, Natalie Freeman, Alana Giggins, Benjamin Hutchings, Chontelle Jeynes, Benjamin Jones, Evan Karananos, Jakob Lazarus, Jackson Maher, Jessica McDonald, Jad Mood, Joseph Moxey, Lillian Orman, Alyssa Partridge, Samuel Scott, Jesse Simpson, Brandon Van Heerden, Robson Wood and Olivia Young

< Back to News