Illalong News

  • 27th July, 2017


A highly successful A.B. Paterson College inaugural TEDx event was held on Thursday night, 20 July. 

University speakers presented about the exponential growth in innovation and technology, and the approaches that industry and education can implement to keep pace. 

Our staff and student speakers shared their ideas on innovative products, solutions and investigations that they are currently engaged with through the College’s programs.

The evening also included the opportunity to network with people from universities and industry over light refreshments, and the opportunity for students who did not wish to speak, to present their innovative projects at the Innovation Expo. This was run in the Dawn Lang Performing Arts Centre foyer, and consisted of innovative technology, artwork, and booths from two local, innovative start-up organisations: iYouth, run by Navdeep Pasricha – a Bond University student who also ran a public speaking masterclass with student speakers, and breakingFree, run by James Peterson – our 2012 College Captain.

Our own Mr Steven Mikael, Head of Health and Physical Education, shared on how physical education can positively impact neurological development, enhancing cognitive function and hence, academic achievement. 

Our students shared on a range of topics including:

  • the design of an autonomous robotic snake to assist help in natural disaster evacuation (presented by Maya Bose and Ruby Storey);
  • an intelligent locket to alert people to potential attackers (presented by Olivia Schmidt);
  • a novel rip-tide warning system (presented by Isabelle Doo);
  • advances in relieving side effects from household medication (presented by Aathavan Subakumar); and
  • the development of virtual reality (VR) to enhance learning, and the way schools educate (presented by Lucas Dugdale). 

The TEDx event was a new approach, to showcase and promote the integration of innovation and design thinking into our academic programs.  

The entire event was run by a student committee, under the supervision of Dr Christopher Hurley, Science Teacher. The committee was led by Adrian Rajkamal (CEO) and included:  Bailey Eales, Tess O’Dwyer, Amani Bean, Ramneet Ubbi, Geordie Pearson, Katy Denney and Lauren Taylor. We were also grateful to have a talented media production team, taking care of filming, audio, photography and editing. Our media production team included: Peterson Chiu, Marley Moore and Simone Everingham. 


< Back to News